You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Pre purchase inspection items list

I am purchasing a 1988 classic. The one in the avatar and in the 88 in mesa thread. What do you think? I'm new to these coaches, but very mechanical. Should I do my own pre purchase inspection, maybe with Tom's help or possible take it to Leo at All Aboard America? I have a short list of focus items that I feel should get particular attention to alleviate costly repairs after purchase, in addition to the laundry list of inspection items confirming proper systems operation. Which items would be most important to you?

Fluids analysis- Which fluids? unfortunately the dealer just changed the engine oil, but not the trans. Coolant and differential? Slobber can for indications of coolant contamination

Air springs- spray to check for leaks, check control valves for age and condition? don't know much about the system operation.

Air systems- Air/water separators for indication of system integrity, tanks for leaks, brake actuators for moisture damage.

Water- Heater for anode condition, tank sediment to determine remaning life. Don't see a date on the tank.

A/C systems- a new York engine driven compressor was just installed. Not sure if the orifice or receive/dryer were replaced. I asked to have all other a/c pressures checked. Not so sure I trust it to be done or evaluated properly. Do I do it myself? How costly to repair these units? Are parts available?

Windows- there is some seal creep but not much and windshield rubber is soft, no cracks, but had some silicon at the top. Do they leak much? Should any of it be a concern?

The tires are new in front and '11s in the rear. the batteries are being replaced. some rust at front belly is being repaired

What can I do to check generator condition? fluid analysis?