You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Why so many rebuilds ?

I'm new to the Newell world and just started my research on purchasing one in the 84 to 89 year range. One thing I find disconcerting is that so many coaches with under one hundred thousand miles have had rebuilds on engines that should last "forever."  I surmise that an engine in a coach that is ten to fifteen or twenty years old or older and has under one hundred thousand miles on it must have just not been used enough. These same engines are designed to go close to a million miles.
What's up with that?  Huh

Many of the Classics have Detroit Diesel Series 92 engines in them. They are quite adverse to overheating, which I believe has been a common source of damage. Inexperienced owners tend to operate them in too high a gear range when climbing long grades......I have learned from others that when climbing long grades to keep the transmission in a gear that I can keep the RPM's at, or near red line. Since these same coaches all have rear facing, belt driven fans the higher the RPM's the more coolant is circulated keeping the engine cooler. I suspect, as you mentioned, that another problem is letting them sit for long periods of time without operation.....mechanical things need to be used. I have 156,000 miles on my 6V92 and it runs like a top. Since I purchased my 1982 in 2008 I have put 53,000 of those miles on myself. There are a lot of things you can do to ruin a Series 92 engine, or any diesel for that matter.....letting them idle for long periods of time is damaging to any diesel. Failing to use the proper oil in a Series 92 causes damage......should always be using a single grade 40 wt, not multi-grade.......using wrong coolant causes damage, etc. Of course, you can do everything right and still have engine failure......they are, after all, mechanical things made by human beings.

Clarke and Elaine Hockwald