You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Generator run issue

I'm a newbie here and I'm having a real hard time figuring out what's wrong with my generator.  The typical "it starts fine on the start switch, but won't stay running?  I've tried to read all the threads I've found on here for the last 2 days and I've learned a lot. 
Here's my situation.  Then genset engine starts and runs on the start switch, but when I let go it stops.  I can manually hold the fuel stop solenoid forward and it keeps running and shows output on the on the 110v. meters inside the coach.  There is nothing showing up on the 220v. meters.  The cooling fan does not kick on.  I removed the solenoid to see if I could test it and it has 3 wires coming out of it, but only 2 are in the plug.  The third wire is separate and was not hooked up to anything.  It appears somebody has at some time tried to do some "backyard engineering" and has added some wiring and a relay in the wiring going to the plug.  Oh yeah, the generator is a Martin 17.5 unit with a Yanmar engine 4TN84TE.  The wires coming out of the solenoid are: 1 white, 1 black and the one not hooked to anything is red/blue.  I don't see how it could operate 2 functions with only 2 wires hooked up.  I thought it needed a "pull coil" and a "hold" coil.  I just bought this unit and have no knowledge if the generator has ever worked in this configuration.  The previous owner is deceased and his surviving spouse knew nothing about the coach.
I keep reading about the fire extinguisher (FE) circuit that can keep the hold from working, but I can't find a FE or any related wiring (I probably just don't know where to look).  On my generator monitor panel the FE charged light is lit and green.