You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Mini split basics

I feel responsible for many people jumping on the band wagon of replacing their basement air units with mini splits, it is wonderfully quiet and the direct transfer of energy from the evaporator means minimum btu loss giving you a more comfortable conditioning of the coach inside air. That being said there is some thought that needs to be done before you jump into a the mini split transformation. I've listed some of the important factors I feel you need to understand before leaping into the mini split bandwagon. This is for the folks who don't know squat about HVAC, I am a electronic tech who loves mechanical devices, when I was in the USN I worked on aircraft and on an airplane you have many things controlled by electric devices like hydraulics, pneumatics and even air conditioning so this my background and I am not a HVAC engineer by schooling. 

Filtered air is a must, you must clean or change your air filter on mini splits its usually on the evaporator but in the case of ducted air or cassette units sometimes it could be remote, these units must have air filters and they must be cleaned often for them to work correctly. You cannot install a cassette or ducted unit without it as the evaporator core will plug up. We have cleaned our filters twice since we've been living in it Florida for 2.5 months and they were dirty, pets add to this. 

Return air is important and it should be only the coach inside air, no air taken from the outside, without recirculation of inside air your just robbing BTU's.