You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

VIN# Issue

Hello All,
Newbie here, we are in the market for a Newell and just got back from the first Newell investigation trip. 

Looked over a 92 year model coach.  Before leaving home, ran the VIN (provided by the seller) through Auto Check...came up with a record only going back to 2015.  Still went anyway to check out the coach....here in lies the issue.  The VIN provide by the seller came from the Title.  Checked the VIN data plate up front by the gear selector.....it only had 16 digits and had the fourth number entered at the DMV Title as a "1" actually was a "4".  So now the Data plate up front does not match the title and is only 16 digits the title has 17 digits.

Now went to the data plate in the back on the engine bulkhead.  That data plate has 17 digits the same forth number is a "4" just like the front.....the ninth position is where a letter "X" was added to make it 17 digits.

Two questions, have any of you seen the front and rear data plate not match one another...i.e. 16 vs 17 digits?  Which number would be the real VIN given the 1992 vintage? 

The title being wrong is totally understandable from a clerical stand point and should be easy to correct.  The other problem creates a plethora of issues from insurance to legality of ownership....no telling what all else.

We left off with the owner to sort out the title issues before we commit to buying it and hope things can be worked out shortly.

Thanks
Steve

Steve & Doris Denton
45' Newell #525, Bath & Half
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Summerfield, FL