You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Inverter setting for deep cycle golf cart batteries

I posted previously that I replaced by six house 8D (starter) batteries with twelve 6 volt deep cycle golf cart batteries. (model GC2).  My ProSine inverter is set to stop inverting at 10 volts, and provides power for 8 to 10 hours for essential equipment.  However, at 10 volts cutoff, the deep cycle batteries are still at about 80% charge.  It seems to me that deep cycle batteries should withstand more discharge than that.  I am a novice at this, but would appreciate any advise as to resetting my inverter to better utilize the deep cycle feature of these batteries. 

2001 Newell #579
tow a Honda Odyssey
fun car: 1935 Mercedes 500K replica

Ay chihuahua,

First I wouldn't discharge to 10V, it will significantly shorten the life of the battery. See table 7 in this literature from Trojan. http://www.trojanbattery.com/pdf/TrojanB...sGuide.pdf

Second, deep cycle batteries are a misnomer. Deep cycle is not the same as deep discharge. They are intended to provide power at low amperages for extended time. Normal start batteries are intended to provide high amperage for short periods of time. It has to do with the thickness and construction of the plates.

Third, someone may may have set your Prosine up incorrectly in regards to % remaining. There is NO WAY at 10V that you have 80% charge. There are ways to charge your battery bank, set up a controlled discharge, and calculate exactly how many amp hour capacity you actually have. Only then can you set the Prosine to accurately tell you the capacity used or remaining.

If you have been running the batteries down to 10V, they may be toast. I apologize if I am coming across as pedantic. I learned a lot while teaching myself battery and charger technology to use the LiPOFe setup, and I will be happy to help you get the most out of your batteries.