You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Slides

Yesterday, I was asked to look at an 07 coach. This is the first time I have observed how the slides operated. The owner wants engineered wood in the salon and carpet
in the bedroom. He operated the front 2 slides for me so I could get the "feel" of how they operated. I was impressed, to say the least. Their precision engineering was what
really caught my attention.
I'm not a newbie at all with slides in all the coaches I have added flooring to. But this coach was, in my opinion, top of the line, in how the slides operated.
So many of the lesser coaches, the slides do all kinds of weird gyrations that quite a lot of them are unpredictable.
I will be "operating" on this coach Feb 1, 2016- I'll post some photos.

Ernie Ekberg
Bluebird Wanderlodge

Ernie,

I do not know exactly how the Valid slide mechanisms work so my comments may be inValid.

When you start to work on the coach, pay particular attention to how the floor that raises and lowers comes up. On the HWH, it pivots, and the clearance is so close, that if you run the floor all the way to edge of the slide it will catch as it pivots. This will make a lot more sense when you run the slide in and out a couple of times. I was trying to minimize the seam when the slides were out, and I notice on the hard surface floors that Newell installs, that the seam is at least an 1/8 if not more.

Also pay particular attention to the deck height of the flooring, because there are some elements that will slide in and over the fixed portion of the floor. I had to raise the dinette seats, and a couch to get them to clear. It doesn't matter with carpet, but hard surface could scuff.

You are the pro at this and I feel a little sheepish even commenting, but those slides present some unique challenges.

Richard and Rhonda Entrekin
99 Newell, 512
Maverick Hybrid Toad
Inverness, FL (when we're home Cool )