You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Basement A/C unit not starting

Ok first thread ever as a Newell owner. Ok soon to be as I am picking up an 84 on Friday. The seller called me today and said that two of the three basement units fired up but that one would not and that this had never happened before. The rig has largely been idle with only two trips in four years. He said he occasionally starts it and runs the units and this is the first time this has happened. I know nothing about these as I am brand new to this but the owner does not know a great deal either. Any ideas or best case worst case along with cost potentially from experience. The owner said he wanted to try and make this right by potentially correcting the price. So i Told him I would post here and see if any of the Newell family could make suggestions to possible causes and the potential cost so he and I had someone's experience to guide us. Thanks for your help.

Todd & Dawn Flickema
Former owners of a Classic 1984 Newell
71 Karmann Ghia
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

If these are Dometic basement airs, there are several potentials. The wiring could be corroded or burned in two. This would result in a complete failure of the air conditioner to start or if just corroded/loose connections, could cause the air conditioner to run at times and not at other times. If the compressor has given up, it could either never turn on thus no cold air, come on with a LOT of noise typically followed by tripping it a breaker or its internal thermal protection, or could have tripped the circuit breaker trying to draw too many amps. The third item is the condenser fan could be frozen. This could be a big problem because it is no longer available.