You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Following trucks while driving

I just wanted to post my experience in the recent long trip that may prevent the customization of the front of your coach.

I was 2 ft from a new front cap.

I have always assumed that following trucks in a high traffic situation was a pretty safe way to drive. I always gave myself plenty of stopping distance, but did think that our coaches and OTR trucks would stop in pretty much the same distances based on our weight.

Well, I was wrong. Trucks, even loaded trucks, can stop a LOT quicker than we can. I almost nailed a truck on I 85 when the truck locked it up to avoid a pileup in front of him/her. I was a good six coach lengths behind and we were traveling about 50 mph. I was on the brakes hard enough that I activated the antilock, and I had the pedal pressed to metal. I stopped two feet from the bumper.

I did a little research, and it really does come down to common sense. The truck has 10 brakes, and we have six with tag. I don't count the toad brakes.

The experience changed my coach driving habits. I don't follow trucks in traffic if I can avoid it. I can't see the brake lights ahead of them, and I know they can stop quicker than I.

Richard and Rhonda Entrekin
99 Newell, 512
Maverick Hybrid Toad
Inverness, FL (when we're home Cool )

does make sense with us only having 4 Brakes! This also makes me glad that I have a Supplemental Braking System!

Steve & Patti, Bonnie and Tucker
1982 Newell 38' Classic, DD 6V92
cocktails for as many will fit in the site, dinner for as many can sit at the pick-nick table and sleeps 2 since I fixed the couch

I like being able to see what's further ahead than just the back of a truck in front of us. Easier to read signs etc. also.