You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Alternate Brake Pedal

I couldn't wait till April 1 because of the outcome. 

My original concept was to post this as an install I did on the passenger side. I was going to explain how the co pilot was always helping me apply the brakes, so why not just make it easy for her. It would have been a simple process to tee into the supply and delivery brake lines to allow duplicate brake pedals. I was also going to observe how the coach now went into corners and exit ramps much slower than before. Go figure.

But, the outcome of this brake pedal change overrides the prank. 

As long as I have owned Newells, I have found the brakes hard to apply. Meaning it took a lot of leg force to apply the brakes. As a recovering engineer I did a lot of noodlin about that, and asked many of you if you had the same issue. Most said no. I finally figured out that it had a lot to do with the angle of my leg and the design of the brake pedal. I won't bore you with the vector diagrams and force calculations, but I sit high and close to the steering wheel, and that results in my brake foot pressing almost straight down on the brake pedal. A lot of the force from my foot is wasted because of the angle. If one sits further back or lower then the force is more in line with the direction of travel of the pedal. It's intuitive and the force vector analysis shows proves it. I wasn't going to have much more luck changing my short legs, short arms, long torso build than I will have growing hair.