You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

TOTAL NEWBIE

I hope to purchase a newell soon. I am not really sure it will ever happen, because truthfully my wife is not very excited about being out on the road very long. We have 10 grandchildren of which the oldest is 8 years old. I have farmed my whole life and my farm was my hobby. I am retiring and my son and brother in law are taking it over. We live 100 miles southwest of Houston, TX so it is a long way to mountains and a lot of other places I  would like to visit. I feel like a 7 day trip would be a waste of time in a motorhome as I would spend way too much time driving. My wife wants to rent a motorhome for a few days to try it out. I do not think you would get much enjoyment out of 3 or 4 days of a rental. comments??

Rent. You will learn SO much in that short period. One or both of you may change your perspective. Rent the nicest thing you can. Whatever you spend will be far less than a buying mistake.

Richard and Rhonda Entrekin
99 Newell, 512
Maverick Hybrid Toad
Inverness, FL (when we're home Cool )

I am all ears.

This is one person’s perspective. There will be many on this forum.

First things first. You and your bride are not in agreement according to your original post. Seems that reaching agreement is the first step before investing 1/4 million in a hobby in which you said you had no experience. Renting a nice RV for a week will give both of you a taste for the RV world. Yes it will be expensive, more expensive than motels and restaurant food, but it will be far less expensive than money you will lose buying and selling an RV. Don’t drive for a week, instead take a fall trip up to the Texas Hill Country. You are collecting a data point, not trying to satisfy your desire to see other places.