You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Learning my air system

The cold air in Florida this month has created serious air leaks for our 2009 Newell. I'm a novice here, and can't take the coach anywhere for the next six weeks or more as we are living in it as the renovation continues on the house. I'm looking up u-tube videos to start learning...
The 110 compressor was down to running every 15 minutes for 5 minutes, then the 110 compressor solenoid started purging continuously again. I have a leak at the inbound Valid slide manifold in the electronics bay. I've shut off the 110 compressors, took the door to 'manual' and using the engine air when we need air pressure for the toilet.
1. Trying to find the R1 tank so I can drain it - is it actually in the bay, because I sure can't find it.
2. Where can I locally source parts, or should I go to the internet.
3. What tools do I need?

I've included pictures of the Valid slide manifold
.docx Valid slide inbound manifold.docx Size: 1,016.41 KB  Downloads: 67

Dave Head & Megan Westbrook
2009 Newell 46' Custom #1261
former Foretravel guru, 93 U280, 95 U320C
Titusville FL  (The Great Outdoors)

Dave,

As you have figured out the cold weather wreaks havoc on the air systems. Rubber seals that are fine at normal temps are stiffer when it gets cold and let air out.

Another problem when the cold weather hits is water will freeze in the lines and will sometimes burst components.

If you will get a bottle of kids bubble solution (Dollar general) and coat the components, you will see where the air leak is.

Most of the connections that you have in your pictures are “push on” connectors that will eventually all cause problems. You want to find “D.O.T” rated connectors. Once installed they will last forever.

In older coaches, the 110 compressor fed to a tank located in the bay under the passengers seat. Can you take a picture of that bay?

Bill

Bill Johnson